Build a Formal Capsule Wardrobe (+free printable worksheet)

One month ago I published an extended post about my F/W Minimalist Wardrobe and you loved it! *happy feet* However, as you might have noticed, my previous post didn’t include formal or fancy attires, rather it was really focused on casual, simple and easy outfits. That’s partly because I’m not the kind of person that goes out a lot and partly because even when I go out I hardly wear super-duper fancy outfits. A few days ago though I received an email from Stephanie, asking me to suggest her ways to build her capsule wardrobe based on the fact that she attends many galas and formal events. After a long long email that I shared with her my insights on how to achieve that, I realized that most of you will probably need some formal outfits as well. Thus i decided to write a post focused entirely on that.

FYI, unlike my previous post, this won’t be focused on my existing Wardrobe. On the contrary, I will work with you, use the worksheet I share below and step by step I will create my ideal Formal Capsule Wardrobe. Having worked on my Casual Minimalist Wardrobe earlier this year helped me a lot in developing the strategy I need to achieve the Ultimate Formal Capsule Wardrobe. 

So, let’s do this! 

LIFESTYLE

Correct me if I’m wrong, but we all have very different lifestyles, thus different needs from our Formal Wardrobes. Also, we all have a different meaning for the word “formal” in our heads. It is pretty clear that a birthday party requires simpler attires than a Black Tie Gala for example. So, it makes total sense to me that the first important thing we need to do in order to build a Capsule Formal Wardrobe, is to acknowledge these differences and identify our needs.  

I, for one, know that I won’t be attending any Black Tie events any time soon, so I guess my Formal Capsule Wardrobe doesn’t need to be focused on that kind of “formal”. I know, however, that many of you might be way more glamorous than me, so please take some time to think what your specific needs are and how your Formal Wardrobe has to “serve” you. 

THINK SMART; USE EXISTING ITEMS & FANCY ACCESSORIES

What i really love about Capsule Wardrobes is that they “force” you to think outside the box and use your clothes efficiently. Personally, I believe that having thought carefully of your clothes leads to having more confidence when wearing them. Plus, you don’t mind wearing them again and again, since you really love them. That being said, it is absolutely possible to use some of the clothes you already have, paired with fancy accessories, statement pieces of jewelry, high heels and great make up and…still rock!

Till now that was basically my strategy. I could really write a whole post (and probably I will) on how helpful it has been to have a couple of Little Black Dresses in my Wardrobe. Every time I need to attend to a Formal Event, I wear one of my LBDs, spiced up with a funky pair of earrings and high heels and I have to admit I’ve never felt that I needed something more. Or at least until now. I get that the LBD situation is perfectly convenient when you actually need to attend as your dressier self once in a blue moon. But still, it helps you posses less and still be amazingly dressed. 

PAY ATTENTION TO THE OCCASION

Unfortunately, building a Formal Capsule Wardrobe needs some extra thought mostly because there are many different types of formal events. However, if you’ve done a good study on what you will need based on the events you normally go, you won’t have a problem building your Capsule Wardrobe. And if you need help with that process the Free Worksheet I give you below will save you some time. I’ve listed all the Type of Events and linked them with all the appropriate or required attires. So believe me, if you are not sure how you should be dressed, it will help you a tone! 

INSPIRATION, STYLE & COLOR PALETTE

Once you’ve done the hard work of identifying your Formal Wardrobe’s needs, you’ll have to collect all the information you will actually use in order to choose the specific items of your small, yet neat and amazing, collection. In my opinion this phase includes three basic steps; seek inspiration, find your style, choose your colors. 

  • INSPIRATION: There are numerous ways to seek inspiration. For me, the number one source is Pinterest and then a couple of fashion blogs I really love and follow for years. Do whatever works for you though and collect as many images and notes as possible that describe your ultimate style. 
  • STYLE: After collecting the inspo-material you will need to pay attention to what is good for you. We all have different bodies, skin colors, hair styles etc. You need to pay attention to what is good on you based on your characteristics. I get that we all want to be able to wear whatever we want but unfortunately some outfits are not flattering on us. That being said, try to develop your own style and create a dressing strategy that makes you feel confident.
  • COLOR PALETTE: Lastly, what I like to do is work with a specific color palette. That way, your shoes will match your clothes, you won’t need a bunch of accessories and every item will work harmonically with the other. For example, below I chose black, blue and metallic colors. 

So, if you want to build an amazing Formal Capsule Wardrobe, you can download your Free Worksheet here and do it like a boss! 

GET YOUR FREE CHECKLIST HERE !https://mylifebox.leadpages.co/leadbox-959.js

MY IDEAL F/W FORMAL CAPSULE WARDROBE

Well, as I mentioned before, my collection is based on a black, royal blue and metallic accents palette. I don’t know about you, but I find the combination of black and blue very chic and sophisticated, while safe for all formal occasions. Then I added some splashes of gold and bronze just to spice things up and feel more festive. New Years Eve is around the corner after all and we all want to shine that day, right? 

As you see, I’ve included a couple of statement jewelry pieces because half of the dresses I’ve chosen can be easily upgraded with a jewelry addition! 

DRESSES

SHOES

ACCESSORIES

GET YOUR FREE CHECKLIST HERE !https://mylifebox.leadpages.co/leadbox-959.js

* Click on the photos for the links. Note that none of the products I share is affiliated or sponsored. I share only what I truly like and no commission will be earned by clicking on the photos. 

Leave a Reply

